top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Williams

Sustainability has to start somewhere

The fashion industry is one of the highest polluting industries in the world. From high street to high end we all have a part to play to be sustainable. ‘Sustainable fashion’ is a phrase that not everyone is familiar with. To be sustainable in fashion means designing, making and wearing clothes that will not harm the earth. Sadly, there are lots of ways in which the fashion industry can be harmful towards our planet. Our climate, oceans and animals are suffering as a result. As a high demanding population, we always have a want for the latest trend pushing the health of our earth to the side. Small steps can be taken to have a healthier environment. The future of fashion is changing, we need to make it for the better. Instead of overspending on fast fashion, we need to re-use, re-cycle and re-make our clothing. Being sustainable needs to start with us, the consumer. Consumers need to take ownership and consume in an ethical and sustainable way.

I feel strongly about sustainability within fashion and I have been expanding my knowledge on this subject area for a while. It can be difficult to be sustainable when their are so many short cuts to manufacturing within the industry. I have learnt that re-using materials to build a collection is a great start to becoming sustainable. Within my latest collection I have gathered a lot used fabrics from people in my local area. I advertised on Facebook asking for fabrics and clothing that people don't use anymore and are struggling to get rid of. Overall I received over 14 bags full of fabrics. I have used these fabrics to toile and create experimentation garments in the build up to my collection. For my final garments I haven't purchased any polyester. Synthetic fabrics like polyester are some of the worse fabrics to use as they add pollution into our waters and like most other fabrics are very difficult to decompose. Synthetic fabrics seen within my collection have been re-used and re-cycled. I highly recommend using recycled products where possible when starting a new project.

Sustainability has to start somewhere, why not start with you? Be the change.





7 views0 comments
bottom of page